Frequently Asked Questions


PART 1: Getting Started

Q. What do I do to get enrolled for the class?
It's EASY!
Select Prelicensing, Contininuing Education or Late CE
Select Format - Live Classroom, Live Webinar or Online Self-Study
Find the class date and times that work for you

Q. What do I do to register for the NMLS SAFE National and/or SAFE State exam?
Individual Test Enrollment

Q. How do I obtain my Unique Identifier Number?
A. Create an Individual Account

Q. I have already registered on NMLS, I have a Log In ID and password but I can NOT find my Unique Identifier number. How can I find this?
A. View Individual-Individual Search

Q. How do I sign up for my NMLS SAFE Exam with UST (Unified State Test) Component?
A. Test Taking Process: (1) Pay to open an enrollment window (2) Accept the Candidate Agreement (3) Schedule an appointment (4) Study.

Testing FAQs

Q. What do I need the day of class?
A. Live Class: Picture ID, Pen, Highlighter, Note Pad, Sweater/Sweatshirt

Webinar: PRINTED Textbook (emailed to you prior to class), Picture ID, Pen, Highlighter, Note Pad, Working Camera, & Strong internet connection

Q. What is NMLS charging for FL Licensee?
A.Cost paid for education & Testing NOT included
Total license costs is $300.25 which includes:
$195 Florida application fee
$30 NMLS processing fee
$36.25 Federal criminal background check
$24 State criminal background check (Florida) – paid to the service provider
$15 Credit Report fee

Q. What does the National Exam with UST component cost?
A. $110

Q. What does the required Education Cost?
A. Varies based on Required Hours (ALL states are required to take 20 Hour Federal Prelicense Course and some states require State Specific see this link for state specific requirements:

PART 2: Tell Me More About the Course

Q. What's covered in the class?
A. 20 Hours Required Education for National SAFE Test

  • 3 hours of Federal law and regulations;
  • 3 hours of ethics, this shall include instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues;
  • 2 hours of training related to lending standards for the nontraditional mortgage product marketplace; and
  • 12 hours of undefined instruction (school decides which sections to spend this time on)

Total: 8 Hours Ethics + 4 Hours Federal Law + 8 Hours Nontraditional Lending = 20

Q. What is the cost for the required Courses?
A. 20 Hour SAFE (National/Federal ) $389
2 Hour Florida SAFE 2 Hour Course $69 (FREE if you purchase the 20 SAFE course for $389 (not applicable for Online class or discounted prices) with us - must take within 30 days of completing the 20 hour course)

ALL other state specific classes are offered on our website through and affiliate school and are additional cost

Q. What is your Course Retake Policy?
A. You may RETAKE the 20 hour course for FREE for up to 6 months after completing the course the first time.

Q. Are there any additional costs?
A. Our courses are ALL INCLUSIVE - Includes Textbook, Practice Exams, and AUDIO Files (5 hour review of the course - study tool), & NMLS $30 (20 Hour course) or $12 (8 Hour CE) Reporting Fee

Q. How does the Classroom Equivalent - LIVE ONLINE Webinar -  Class work?
A.This class is taught LIVE. Which means that you are watching as the instructor is teaching LIVE.

  • The instructor is on camera and has a microphone.
  • Students MUST be on Camera for the duration of the course and this is monitored throughout. No Microphone required – all attendees are MUTED upon entry.
  • Students will interact via CHAT, the facilitator will either answer questions for you via CHAT OR ask the Instructor to address the question directly in the class.
  • Attendance is CLOSELY monitored via POLLS sent out randomly each hour to ensure each student is present and paying attention.
  • Also, the Instructor gives you a LOT of information key to passing the exam to WRITE down - if you walk away from your computer you will miss these key concepts.
  • This is a LIVE ON LINE class - you cannot pause the class and walk away - there will breaks hourly and on days of 8 hours sessions there will be a 1 hour lunch break

Q. If I am taking the Classroom Equivalent (live on line WEBINAR) class how will I receive my materials?
A.Textbook, Practice Exams will be EMAILED to you 2 days PRIOR to your class in a PDF format. We do suggest that you print the Textbook as the instructor references this often for you to highlight information in the book. Your Audio Files will be emailed within 24 hours of registration for the class

PART 3: State Exam and National Exam

Q. When are the exams given?
A.Based on test center availability. You will register and pay the SAFE National exam on the NMLS website state for the exam. Once you have paid for the exam(s), you will be able to schedule the test based on your test centers availability. Please follow instructions on NMLS website to find a testing center near you. (We suggest taking the National Exam with UST Component - $110 - within 1 WEEK of course completion - DO NOT wait longer than this)

Q. Where is the Test Given?
A. Use this link

Q. What is on the SAFE National Exam?
A. Use this link

Q. How many questions on the SAFE National Exam?
A.120(All multiple choice, 115 questions graded)

Q. What is passing score for the SAFE National Exam?

Q. Is there a State Specific Exam?
A. No, there is no State Specific Exams. But many states require State Specific Education:

Q. What if I fail the National exam or do not take the exam on the scheduled date and time?
A. Use this link
You will have to wait 30 days to retake the exam.
You will have to schedule another test with TESTING CENTER and pay NMLS their test fee again ($110).
If you do NOT pass the exam after 3 attempts you will have to wait 6 months to retake the exam.

Q. When will I receive the license after I pass the test?
A.There will be no actual license issued, everything will be done electronically. Proof of licensure will be available on the NMLS website after you are approved.

Q. When and how will I get my results?
A. You will be given your test results before you leave the testing center. A print out of your score will be given to you at the end of the testing session.

PART 4: License Questions

Q. Why should I get a license?
A. Every state in the country requires, those persons who arrange loans tied to real estate with another’s money must be licensed to be paid. Also, to be paid a referral fee, finders fee, bird dog fee, etc., you must be licensed otherwise it’s a kickback.

Q. Who needs to be licensed.
A. The following need to be licensed:

  • Mortgage Loan Originators (ALL STATES) – the only exemption are MLO’s that work for FDIC Banks
  • ALL outsource/contract processors
  • ALL outsource/contract underwriters that
  • Loan Modifiers

Q. Once I am licensed, what must I do to be paid?
A. As a MLO you must place your license with a licensed mortgage broker business or lender.

Q. Can I take the class and/or exam without knowing where I am going to place my license?
A. Yes! In FLORIDA this allowed – most states require that you be sponsored by a company but Florida does not.

Company Mailing Address:
3943 East Eden Roc Circle
Tampa, FL 33634

Phone: 800-735-8565
Fax: 813-885-6931

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm (EST)
Classroom Location:
Listed on registration